Panetta Announces 2012 David Packard Excellence in Acquisition, Better Buying Power Efficiency Award Winners

To print a PDF copy of this article, click here.

This year’s David Packard awards for Excellence in Acquisition and a new Better Buying Power Efficiency award were presented Nov. 2 at the Pentagon by The Honorable Leon Panetta, secretary of defense, joined by The Honorable Frank Kendall, under secretary of defense for acquisition, technology and logistics.

The Packard award winners are: The Project Manager Combat Ammunition Systems (Army) team for an efficient new approach to buying ammunition and the DDG 51 Shipbuilding Program Office (Navy) team for its competitive procurement of three guided missile destroyers.

The winner of the first-ever Better Buying Power Efficiency Award is: The Acquisition Rapid Response Medical team for Tactical Combat Casualty Care and Casualty Evacuation team of the U.S. Special Operations Command (USSOCOM) for a new Casualty Evacuation System.


The Army Ammunition Systems team receives its award. From left to right: Lt. Gen. William N. Phillips, principal military deputy to the assistant secretary of the Army (Acquisition, Logistics and Technology); Donna Ponce, procurement contracting officer, Army Contracting Command, Rock Island; Maryellen Lukac, director of business management and project manager, Combat Ammunition Systems; Rene Kiebler, deputy project manager and program manager (PM), Combat Ammunition Systems; Under Secretary Kendall; Martin Moratz, conventional ammunition division, PM, Combat Ammunition Systems; Aaron Rappaport, acquisition manager, PM, Combat Ammunition Systems; and Ronald Rapka, retired acquisition manager, PM, Combat Ammunition Systems.

Left: Secretary Panetta, with Rene Kiebler, team leader.


The Navy shipbuilding team, from the left: Pat Potter, DDG 51 Class Ship design manager; Todd Hellman, DDG 51 shipbuilding technical director; Chuck Teichert, deputy director, Acquisition Management, PEO SHIPS; Jim Day, DDG 51 New Construction Ship integration and test manager; Neal White, DDG 51 shipbuilding operations director; Capt. Mark Vandroff, DDG 51 shipbuilding PM; Under Secretary Kendall; Lisa Radocha, DDG 51 shipbuilding deputy PM; Martha Rouse, DDG 51 shipbuilding business financial manager; Megan Moore, DDG 51 procuring contracting officer; Sam Galbo, DDG 51 program legal counsel; The Honorable Sean Stackley, assistant secretary of the Navy (research, development, and acquisition).

010213-article-4-vandroffAt left: Secretary Panetta with Capt. Vandroff, PM.


The USSOCOM team receives the Better Buying Power Efficiency Award. From left to right: Col. Joseph Capobianco, program executive officer, Special Operations Forces (SOF) Warrior Systems; Tom Mills, PM, SOF Survival Support and Equipment Systems; Leatrice Frederick, contract specialist; Under Secretary Kendall; Stephanie Elder, Assistant PM, Tactical Combat Casualty Care; James Cluck, USSOCOM acquisition executive; and Master Sgt. Kyle Sims, medical combat developer.

010213-article-4-capobiancoAt left, Secretary Panetta with Col. Capobianco, PEO.

To print a PDF copy of this article, click here.

Defense Department photos by U.S. Navy Petty Officer 1st Class Chad J. McNeeley



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *